Bay Lake Towers

November 4, 2009

The new Bay Lake Towers, the newest Disney Vacation Club Resort, has just recently opened its doors.  From the reviews I have been reading, the views are spectacular and the closeness to the Magic Kingdom is greatly enjoyed by those who stay there.  But I have to say, after going through the models of the rooms, I found the decor to be cold and clinical at best.  The whole concept of the Disney Vacation Club (DVC) was to have a vacation HOME.  I really love the rooms at Old Key West, the Villas at Wilderness Lodge, and the Beach Club Villas.  When we first bought in 1992, the one bedroom at Old Key West was nicer than the apartment we lived in here in Dallas – certainly the neighborhood was nicer.  we always felt like we were coming home when we stayed there.  I was very excited when I heard the news that a new DVC property was being built adjacent to the Contemporary Resort.  A DVC property on the monorail, at last!!!  I carefully watched the news and while we were there last year, I couldn’t wait to view the models of the rooms.  We were all poised to purchase additional points.  Then we saw the models.  It was like modern decor hell.  the Animal Kingdom Lodge rooms were much more homey. Also the point chart for Bay Lake Towers was outrageous.

So, while I do plan on staying at the Bay Lake Towers (in the very lowest season) and I know I will enjoy the views and the monorail convenience, I will not be buying any points there anytime soon.  I would rather get my points at the Beach Club Villas.

Leave a Reply

